November 26 in Indianapolis hockey history

November 26 in Indianapolis hockey history

1956: A big night for a lot of Chiefs. Billy Short has four assists, Pierre Brillant a goal and three assists and Alex Viskelis two goals and three assists in a 9-4 win over the Troy Bruins.

1957: Germain Leger and Frank Kuzma score two goals each and Cliff Hicks makes 27 saves as the Chiefs beat the Louisville Rebels 4-2.

1958: Alex Viskelis has a five-point game with two goals and three assists as the Chiefs beat the Troy Bruins 9-4. Billy Short has four assists and Pierre Brillant a goal and three assists in the victory.

1983: The Checkers score two goals in 23 seconds to rally and beat Tulsa 3-2. Dave Simpson beats John Vanbiesbrouck to tie the game with 6:41 left and Roger Kortko puts the Checkers moments later. Lorne Molleken posts his first win between the pipes for the Checkers, stopping 19 shots.

1992: Sean Williams and Sergei Krivokrasov score two goals 15 seconds apart in the third period of a 5-4 loss to Peoria at the Coliseum. Krivokrasov finished the night with two goals and an assist.

2006: Brent Gwidt and John Kemp score 12 seconds apart in a four-goal first period as the Ice beat Ohio 5-2. Gwidt scores the game’s first two goals. Kemp adds a goal and an assist to tally his ninth point in the three nights against the Blue Jakets. Jake Skjodt adds two assists.

2010: The Ice snap a seven-game winless streak with a 4-1 win in Sioux City. Peter Schneider, Tim Smith, Chris Martin and Nick Mattson score the goals, and Blake Coleman assists on three. Jon Gillies stops 18 shots in net.

2013: A new era is announced as Jim Hallett and Sean Hallett unveil the creation of the Indy Fuel at the Indiana State Fairgrounds Coliseum (a building to be renamed the Indiana Farmers Coliseum), a building that was in the process of being fully renovated and ready for its 75th anniversary in the fall of 2014. The team signs a 10-year lease with three five-year options, effectively a 25-year lease. The Indy Fuel become Indy’s first entry in the ECHL – a “AA” minor pro league created in 1988 – and the first professional team to play in the city since 2004. The ECHL contains a number of familiar faces – previous Indy teams played Fort Wayne, Cincinnati, Kalamazoo, Colorado and Toledo in the old International Hockey League (and going further, the Indy-Cincinnati rivalry that goes all the way back to the 1950s American Hockey League was rekindled) – and with the absorption of the Central Hockey League prior to the start of the 2014-15 season, old CHL foes from Wichita and Tulsa were added to the league.

Happy birthday to …

Justin Cardwell: Center for the Ice in 1998-99. In four games, he had two goals, and added two assists in seven playoff games. He played seven minor pro seasons from 1997-2004, mostly in the ECHL and UHL. He had 40-goal seasons in 1996-97 in the ECHL and 2000-01 in the WPHL. A native of St. Paul, Minn., he is 43.

David Johnstone: Forward for the Ice from 2009-11. In 105 games, he had 26 goals and 52 assists. He also had four points in eight postseason contests. Johnstone had a 20-goal, 58-point season in 2010-11. In 2015, he finished his four-year career at Michigan Tech, where he had 36 goals and 67 assists in 127 games. A native of Grand Ledge, Mich., he is 25.

Robbie Baillargeon: Ice forward from 2011-13. In 79 games, he had 20 goals and 43 assists — including 14 goals and 48 points in 2011-12. He had six points in six playoff games in 2012. He was dealt to Omaha partway through the 2012-13 season, and recently finished his junior season at Boston University before transferring to Arizona State as a grad transfer for this season. He had 58 points in 101 games in his three seasons at BU. He was drafted in the fifth round of the 2012 NHL Draft by the Ottawa Senators. A native of Brewster, Mass., he is 23.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.