2015-16 Fuel schedule announced

The ECHL has released the 2015-16 schedule, and the Indy Fuel will again open their season at home.

This year, the Fuel will open on Friday, Oct. 16 against the Toledo Walleye. Six of the first eight games are on the road, and Indy will have extended homestands in December, January (where 12 of the 14 games will be played at home) and March (when the Fuel will play seven home games in a nine-game stretch).

Twenty-five of the Fuel’s 36 home games will be played on Friday and Saturday nights, with 13 Friday and 12 Saturday games. In addition, the Fuel will have six Sunday home games and five midweek games – one on a Tuesday, four on Thursdays.

Forty-three of the 76 games will be played against fellow Midwest Division teams – 11 each against rivals Cincinnati, Fort Wayne and Evansville and 10 against new division rival Quad City. Each division team will visit the Indiana Farmers Coliseum five times.

Outside of the division, the Fuel will play Toledo seven times – including five at home, and Missouri six times, but only once at home. Indy will see 14 different teams come to the Indiana Farmers Coliseum this year. The Fuel will face 15 different teams this season across five different ECHL divisions. Indy will not face either of the three new ECHL teams – Manchester, Norfolk and Adirondack – nor will it face any teams from the East Division, which comprises those three teams plus Elmira and Reading, both frequent visitors to the Indiana Farmers Coliseum last season.

Besides Opening Night, highlights include a New Year’s Day game against Fort Wayne, an Oct. 30 home game against the Komets, and the home finale April 8, also against Fort Wayne. The Fuel will also have six new home opponents this season – the first visits by the Quad City Mallards on Nov. 7, the Alaska Aces on Nov. 13-14, the Wichita Thunder on Jan. 2, the Rapid City Rush on Jan. 15, the Utah Grizzlies on March 4 and the Brampton Beast on March 19.

The Fuel will compete in the Midwest Division of the Western Conference next season as the 28-team ECHL moves to a two-conference, six-division alignment. The top eight teams from each conference will make the playoffs, with the three division champions seeded 1-3. The Fuel will play nine of the other 13 Western Conference teams during the regular season, comprising 55 of the 72 games. Indy will also play 17 games against six of the 14 Eastern Conference teams, with seven of those being against Toledo, four against Orlando and three against Wheeling.

Official Indy Fuel release
PDF schedule (via Indy Fuel)
ECHL schedule announcement

2015-16 Indy Fuel schedule (all times Eastern)

Friday, Oct. 16: TOLEDO, 7:35 p.m.
Saturday, Oct. 17: at Evansville, 8:15 p.m.
Friday, Oct. 23: at Fort Wayne, 8 p.m.
Saturday, Oct. 24: at Fort Wayne, 7:30 p.m.
Tuesday, Oct. 27: at Kalamazoo, 7 p.m.
Friday, Oct. 30: FORT WAYNE, 7:35 p.m.
Wednesday, Nov. 4: at Evansville, 10:30 a.m.
Friday, Nov. 6: at Evansville, 8:15 p.m.
Saturday, Nov. 7: QUAD CITY, 7:35 p.m.
Friday, Nov. 13: ALASKA, 7:35 p.m.
Saturday, Nov. 14: ALASKA, 7:35 p.m.
Friday, Nov. 20: at Cincinnati, 7:35 p.m.
Saturday, Nov. 21: QUAD CITY, 7:35 p.m.
Sunday, Nov. 22: at Quad City, 5:05 p.m.
Wednesday, Nov. 25: at Wichita, 8:05 p.m.
Friday, Nov. 27: at Missouri, 8:05 p.m.
Saturday, Nov. 28: at Missour, 8:05 p.m.
Sunday, Nov. 29: at Quad City, 5:05 p.m.
Thursday, Dec. 3: TOLEDO, 7:05 pm.
Friday, Dec. 4: TOLEDO, 7:35 p.m.
Sunday, Dec. 6: SOUTH CAROLINA, 3:05 p.m.
Thursday, Dec. 10: WHEELING, 7:05 p.m.
Friday, Dec. 11: at Fort Wayne, 8 p.m.
Saturday, Dec. 12: FORT WAYNE, 7:35 p.m.
Wednesday, Dec. 16: at Toledo, 10:35 a.m.
Friday, Dec. 18: at Evansville, 8:15 p.m.
Saturday, Dec. 19: at Evansville, 8:15 p.m.
Sunday, Dec. 20: TOLEDO, 5:05 p.m.
Saturday, Dec. 26: at Quad City, 8:05 p.m.
Sunday, Dec. 27: QUAD CITY, 3:05 p.m.
Tuesday, Dec. 29: at Cincinnati, 7:35 p.m.
Thursday, Dec. 31: at Fort Wayne, 7:30 p.m.
Friday, Jan. 1: FORT WAYNE, 7:35 p.m.
Saturday, Jan. 2: WICHITA, 7:35 pm.
Friday, Jan. 8: EVANSVILLE, 7:35 p.m.
Saturday, Jan. 9: EVANSVILLE, 7:35 p.m.
Sunday, Jan. 10: at Wheeling, 4:05 p.m.
Friday, Jan. 15: RAPID CITY, 7:35 p.m.
Saturday, Jan. 16: ORLANDO, 7:35 p.m.
Sunday, Jan. 17: WHEELING, 3:05 p.m.
Friday, Jan. 22: QUAD CITY, 7:35 p.m.
Saturday, Jan. 23: QUAD CITY, 7:35 p.m.
Sunday, Jan. 24: FORT WAYNE, 3:05 p.m.
Wednesday, Jan. 27: at Cincinnati, 7:35 p.m.
Friday, Jan. 29: EVANSVILLE, 7:35 p.m.
Saturday, Jan. 30: EVANSVILLE, 7:35 p.m.
Friday, Feb. 5: at Cincinnati, 7:35 p.m.
Saturday, Feb. 6: CINCINNATI, 7:35 p.m.
Friday, Feb. 12: at Missouri, 8:05 p.m.
Saturday, Feb. 13: at Missouri, 8:05 p.m.
Sunday, Feb. 14: at Missouri, 5:05 p.m.
Friday, Feb. 19: at Orlando, TBD
Saturday, Feb. 20: at Orlando, TBD
Sunday, Feb. 21: at Orlando, TBD
Tuesday, Feb. 23: MISSOURI, 7:05 p.m.
Saturday, Feb. 27: at Cincinnati, 7:35 p.m.
Sunday, Feb. 28: at Toledo, 5:15 p.m.
Friday, March 4: UTAH, 7:35 p.m.
Saturday, March 5: CINCINNATI, 7:35 p.m.
Friday, March 11: EVANSVILLE, 7:35 p.m.
Saturday, March 12: at Evansville, 8:15 p.m.
Sunday, March 13: CINCINNATI, 3:05 p.m.
Thursday, March 17: TOLEDO, 7:05 p.m.
Saturday, March 19: BRAMPTON, 7:35 p.m.
Sunday, March 20: at Quad City, 5:05 p.m.
Thursday, March 24: CINCINNATI, 7:05 p.m.
Friday, March 25: CINCINNATI, 7:35 p.m.
Thursday, March 31: at Cincinnati, 7:35 p.m.
Saturday, April 2: at Fort Wayne, 7:30 p.m.
Sunday, April 3: at Quad City, 5:05 p.m.
Friday, April 8: FORT WAYNE, 7:35 p.m.
Saturday, April 9: at Fort Wayne, 7:30 p.m.
Note: The games at Orlando are subject to change due to the Orlando Magic NBA schedule

Games by opponent

Midwest Division (43 games: 20H/23A)

  • Cincinnati: 11 (5H-2/6, 3/5, 3/13, 3/24, 3/25) (6A-11/20, 12/29, 1/27, 2/5, 2/27, 3/31)
  • Evansville: 11 (5H-1/8, 1/9, 1/29, 1/30, 3/11) (6A-10/17, 11/4, 11/6, 12/18, 12/19, 3/12)
  • Fort Wayne: 11 (5H-10/30, 12/12, 1/1, 1/24, 4/8) (6A-10/23, 10/24, 12/11, 12/31, 4/2, 4/9)
  • Quad City: 10 (5H-11/7, 11/21, 12/27, 1/22, 1/23) (5A-11/22, 11/29, 12/26, 3/20, 4/3)

Central Division (8 games: 2H/6A)

  • Missouri: 6 (1H-2/23) (5A-11/27, 11/28, 2/12, 2/13, 2/14)
  • Wichita: 2 (1H-1/2) (1A-11/25)
  • Will not play: Allen, Tulsa

Pacific Division (4 games: 4H/0A)

  • Alaska: 2 (2H-11/13, 11/14)
  • Rapid City: 1 (1H-1/15)
  • Utah: 1 (H-3/4)
  • Will not play: Colorado, Idaho

North Division (12 games: 8H/4A)

  • Brampton: 1 (1H-3/19)
  • Kalamazoo: 1 (1A-10/27)
  • Toledo: 7 (5H-10/16, 12/3, 12/4, 12/20, 3/17) (2A-12/16, 2/28)
  • Wheeling: 3 (2H-12/10, 1/17) (1A-1/10)

South Division (5 games: 2H/3A)

  • Orlando: 4 (1H-1/16) (3A-2/19, 2/20, 2/21)
  • South Carolina: 1 (1H-12/6)
  • Will not play: Florida, Greenville, Gwinnett

East Division (0 games)

  • Will not play: Adirondack, Elmira, Manchester, Norfolk, Reading

Games by month

October: 6 (2H, 4A)
November: 12 (4H, 8A)
December: 14 (7H, 7A)
January: 14 (12H, 2A)
February: 11 (2H, 9A)
March: 11 (8H, 3A)
April: 4 (1H, 3A)

Games by day of week

Friday: 22 (13H/9A)
Saturday: 23 (12H/11A)
Sunday: 14 (6H/8A)
Tuesday: 3 (1H/2A)
Wednesday: 4 (4A)
Thursday: 6 (4H/2A)

Three games in three days (11 times)

  • F-Su 11/20-22 (@CIN, QC, @QC)
  • F-Su 11/27-29 (@MO, @MO, @QC)
  • Th-Sa 12/10-12 (WHE, @FW, FW)
  • F-Su 12/18-20 (@EVV, @EVV, TOL)
  • Th 12/31-Sa 1/2 (@FW, FW, WIC)
  • F 1/8-Su 1/10 (EVV, EVV, @WHE)
  • F 1/15-Su 1/17 (RC, ORL, WHE)
  • F 1/22-Su 1/24 (QC, QC, FW)
  • F 2/12-Su 2/14 (@MOx3)
  • F 2/19-Su 2/21 (@ORLx3)
  • F 3/11-Su 3/13 (EVV, @EVV, CIN)

Back-to-backs vs. same team, consecutive nights (18 instances covering 38 games: 7 split, 5 away, 6 home, 2 of the away trips are 3-game weekends)

Opponents: Fort Wayne 4x (3 home-and-homes, 1 away); Evansville 4x (1 home-and-home, 2 home, 1 away); Quad City 3x (2 home-and-homes, 1 home), Missouri 2x (both away, one a 3-game weekend), Cincinnati 2x (one home, one home-and-home), Alaska/Toledo 1x each (both home), Orlando (away, 3-game weekend)

  • F 10/23-Sa 10/24: Fort Wayne (A/A)
  • F 11/13-Sa 11/14: Alaska (H/H)
  • Sa 11/21-Su 11/22: Quad City (H/A)
  • F 11/27-Sa 11/28: Missouri (A/A)
  • Th 12/3-F 12/4: Toledo (H/H)
  • F 12/11-Sa 12/12: Fort Wayne (A/H)
  • F 12/18-Sa 12/19: Evansville (A/A)
  • Sa 12/26-Su 12/27: Quad City (A/H)
  • Th 12/31-F 1/1: Fort Wayne (A/H)
  • F 1/8-Sa 1/9: Evansville (H/H)
  • F 1/22-Sa 1/23: Quad City (H/H)
  • F 1/29-Sa 1/30: Evansville (H/H)
  • F 2/5-Sa 2/6: Cincinnati (A/H)
  • F 2/12-Su 2/14: Missouri (A/A/A)
  • F 2/19-Su 2/21: Orlando (A/A/A)
  • F 3/11-Sa 3/12: Evansville (H/A)
  • Th 3/24-F 3/25: Cincinnati (H/H)
  • F 4/8-Sa 4/9: Fort Wayne (H/A)

Longest homestands

  • 6 games (1/15-17, 1/22-1/24): Rapid City/Orlando/Wheeling/Quad City x2/Fort Wayne
  • 4 games (1/1-2, 1/8-9): Fort Wayne/Wichita, Evansville x2
  • 4 games (12/3-4, 6, 10): Toledo x2, South Carolina, Wheeling

Longest road trips

  • 6 games (2/12-14, 2/19-21): Missouri x3, Orland0 x3
  • 5 games (11/22, 25, 27-29): Quad City x2, Wichita, Missouri x2
  • 4 games (10/17, 23-24, 27): Evansville, Fort Wayne x2, Kalamazoo